Skip to content

World Cup 2023

  • by

The 2023 Cricket World Cup, officially known as the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, was the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup. It started on 5 October and concluded on 19 November 2023, with Australia winning the tournament.[1] A quadrennial One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament contested by national teams, it was organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Ten national teams participated in the tournament.

It was the first men’s Cricket World Cup which India hosted solely. The tournament took place in ten different stadiums, in ten cities across the country. In the first semi-final India beat New Zealand, and in the second semi-final Australia beat South Africa. The final took place between India and Australia at Narendra Modi Stadium on 19 November with Australia winning the title for the sixth time.[2]

The top eight placed teams in the tournament’s final points table qualified for the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, the next ICC ODI tournament. Virat Kohli was the player of the tournament and also scored the most runs; Mohammed Shami was the leading wicket-taker. A total of 1,250,307 spectators attended matches, the highest number in any cricket World Cup to date.

s a result of the qualifying process, the competition was the first not to include former winners West Indies, who failed to progress for the first time after their defeat to Scotland.[15] Full members Ireland and Zimbabwe also missed out on qualification, meaning three of the four full members who took part in the knock-out qualification stage did not qualify, with only Sri Lanka progressing.[16] The final qualification spot was decided by an eliminator match between associate members Scotland and the Netherlands,[17] with the Dutch side taking the final place.[15]


2023 Cricket World Cup venues

The tournament took place in ten different stadiums, situated in ten different cities across India. The first and second semi-finals were held at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata respectively, while the final took place at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.[8]

Means of qualification Date Venue Berths Qualified
Host nation 1  India
ICC Super League 30 July 2020 – 14 May 2023 Various 7
Qualifier 18 June 2023 – 9 July 2023 Zimbabwe 2
Total 10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *