Skip to content

Cricket World cup 2011

  • by

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was the tenth Cricket World Cup. It was played in IndiaSri Lanka, and for the first time in BangladeshIndia won the tournament, defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, thus becoming the first country to win the Cricket World Cup final on home soil.[1][2] India’s Yuvraj Singh was declared the man of the tournament.[3] This was the first time in World Cup history that two Asian teams had appeared in the final. It was also the first time since the 1996 World Cup that the final match did not feature Australia.

Fourteen national cricket teams took part in this tournament, including 10 full members and four associate members of the International Cricket Council (ICC).[4] The opening ceremony was held on 17 February 2011 at Bangabandhu National StadiumDhaka,[5] and the tournament was played between 19 February and 2 April. The first match was played between India and Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.[6]


India’s Performance In 2011 World Cup

  • India had a fantastic campaign and won the World Cup.
  • They won 7 out of their 9 matches in the tournament.
  • In the final, India chased down a target of 275 runs to win by 6 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *